The Project

Bauhaus, Lindig, Körting – three well sounding names in the history of ceramics and all three are connected with the small Thuringian town Dornburg. The potters and the pottery behind these names characterize the history of one and the same workshop – the pottery workshop in the Marstall-Building quite near the widely known Dornburg Castles. That is a unique constellation in the ceramic history.

Further more: The continuous use as a pottery in economically difficult times and under GDR-conditions led to the fact that parts of the equipment from different periods of use have been well preserved – a place of real authenticity, a place for gaining special experience

Due to this outstanding importance, it was no coincidence that the support group being in charge of the Ceramic Museum in Bürgel (only 15 km far from Dornburg) took notice of the workshop and its history.

Since 2010 the association with a lot of partners has committed itself to the goal to safeguard the ceramic manufacturing as handicraft in Dornburg, to maintain the tradition at the original place and to show that to the public. The historic part of the workshop is planned to be accessible within the frame of a presentation as a museum. The continuation of the pottery on reduced space in the immediate vicinity of the historic showrooms marks the connection to the lively and present pottery trade.

Dornburg – already an attractive popular resort for tourists in the east of Thuringia will offer an additional destination with the Dornburg Ceramic Workshop to the existing

UNESCO-World- Heritage sites of the Bauhaus.

For more details concerning the realization of the project have a look at the point

»Current News«.

Das Projekt

Bauhaus, Lindig, Körting – drei klingende Namen in der Keramikgeschichte und alle drei sind mit dem kleinen thüringischen Städtchen Dornburg verbunden. Die Töpfer und die Keramik, die hinter diesen Namen stehen, kennzeichnen die Geschichte ein- und derselben Werkstatt – der Töpferei im Marstallgebäude gleich bei den weithin bekannten Dornburger Schlössern. Das ist eine einmalige keramikgeschichtliche Konstellation.

Und mehr noch: Die kontinuierliche Nutzung als Töpferei in wirtschaftlich schwierigen Zeiten und unter DDR-Bedingungen hat dazu geführt, dass Teile der Ausstattungen aus den unterschiedlichen Nutzungsperioden erhalten geblieben sind – ein Ort großer Authentizität, ein Ort mit besonderem Erlebnispotenzial!

Angesichts dieser herausragenden Bedeutung war es kein Zufall, dass der Förderkreis, der die Trägerschaft über das nur 15 Kilometer entfernte Keramik-Museum Bürgel ausübt, auf diese Werkstatt und ihre Geschichte aufmerksam werden musste.

Seit 2010 engagiert sich der Verein mit vielen Partnern für das Ziel, die handwerkliche Keramikherstellung in Dornburg dauerhaft zu sichern, die Überlieferung am ursprünglichen Ort zu erhalten und der Öffentlichkeit zu vermitteln. Dabei soll der historische Teil der Werkstatt im Rahmen einer musealen Präsentation zugänglich gemacht werden. Die Weiterführung der Töpferei auf verkleinerter Fläche in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft zu den historischen Schauräumen stellt die Verbindung zum lebendigen Töpferhandwerk her.

Der für Touristen attraktive Ausflugsort Dornburg im östlichen Thüringen wird mit der Dornburger Keramik-Werkstatt einen weiteren Anlaufpunkt im Kontext der
UNESCO-Welterbe-Stätten des Bauhauses bieten.

Informationen zum Umsetzungsstand des Projektes finden Sie unter dem Menüpunkt
»Aktuelles«.