Ceramics Museum Bürgel

The only ceramics museum in Central Germany was already founded in 1880 as a collection of models. So actually it might be the oldest specialized museum for ceramics. The history of the pottery craftsmanship in Bürgel and of the masters is documented from the provable beginnings in the middle of the 17th century to present times.

Since May 2003 the informative permanent exhibition has been presented in the historically registered reconstructed “Old School Building” in the centre of the town. Among others there are examples of earthenware with Engobe painting , stoneware fired at very high temperatures with the typical so called »Blauen Schürze« as well as luxury ceramics manufactured in the periods of historicism, Art Nouveau and in the 1920s.

One emphasis is put on ceramics after designs by Henry van de Velde (see below) that were manufactured in wide varieties in Bürgel starting in 1902/03. The works of following potter personalities like Carl Fischer (see below) and Walter Gebauer (see below) are also on display as well as pieces of the Bürgel blue and white ceramics.

The project to transform the Dornburg Pottery Workshop to a museum is taken care by the Bürgel museum. So far two important periods in the Dornburg ceramics history have already been honoured with special exhibitions of the former Bauhaus potter Otto Lindig (2009/10) and the ceramicists family Körting (2012). Catalogues have been published for the special exhibitions in our own museum’s series. This might be the most important catalogue series about German ceramics history at present

A script series is also available in the museum’s shop as well as a choice of products made in regional potteries. The steadily growing number of the collection concerning the Dornburg Pottery Workshop are stored under good conservation conditions and professional care in the Bürgel museum, too. There are important items on loan for a long time from the Sparkassen-Cultural Foundation Hessen-Thüringen — collection Winnicke, family Körting, collection Breitenbach and the Ernst von Siemens – Art Foundation.

Personalities

Henry van de VeldeCarl FischerWalter Gebauer
Henry van de Velde (1863 – 1957) was one of the most important artists of the Art Nouveau period. He particularly developed the extremely fruitful creative activity of this period during his time in Weimar as a kind of artistic mentor/ consultant in the Grand Duchy Saxony-Weimar-Eisenach and finally as the head of the Arts and Crafts School he founded here. In 1902 van de Velde visited Bürgel for the first time and closely cooperated with several ceramics manufacturers afterwards. He provided at least 60 designs for ceramic vessels himself. In addition there were numerous designs by students of the School of Arts and Crafts (the number cannot be verified). Due to his influence the ceramics manufacture in Bürgel was stimulated sustainably. Stylistic and technical features allow speaking of characteristic Bürgel Art-Nouveau ceramics.

3-VasenTasse

Carl Fischer (1891-1969) was born in the Saxonian town of Döbeln and underwent a training at the Ceramics College in Bunzlau. After that he acquired a manufactory in Bürgel and founded the Bürgel Art Ceramics Workshop (BKW). At the beginning still obliged to the style of the previous pottery he soon set his own trends: first with developing multicoloured drip glazes and later with new shapes of ceramic vessels. In addition to glazed decors the slipware coating always played an important role. The Fischer pottery was probably the first workshop in Bürgel in which decors were carved in monochrome Engobe. After 1945 blue and white Engobe ceramics dominated, the carved ornaments were combined with the slipware painting forming the typical “Fischer style”.

Korrektur_Bilddatei14_FischerKorrektur_Bilddatei15_FischerKorrektur_Bilddatei16_Fischer

Walter Gebauer (1907-1989) is regarded one of the most important East German ceramicists. He was the son of Paul Gebauer with whom he had worked in Bürgel in a craft pottery since 1934. He passed the examination at the end of his apprenticeship in the factory of his uncle Carl Gebauer in 1925. From 1925 to 1927 he studied at the Ceramics College in Bunzlau. In 1945 he was elected head of guild of the Thuringian potters’ guild. For decades he devoted himself to the training of young potters and implemented high standards, still accepted nowadays. Starting with traditionally decorated earthenware, he expanded the profile of his workshop step by step. The glaze became more and more important in his ceramic creative activity, contributing to the rejuvenation of the vessel aesthetics after 1945. Gebauer was one of the leading German specialists in the field of crystal glazes. His merits are honoured by awarding the Walter-Gebauer-Ceramics-Prize annually at the occasion of the Pottery Market in Bürgel.

waltergebauerwaltergebauer_servicewaltergebauer_schalen

Keramik-Museum Bürgel


Warning: Parameter 2 to M_DataMapper::set_custom_wp_query_where() expected to be a reference, value given in /var/www/ud20_387/html/bauhaus/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 270

Warning: Parameter 2 to M_DataMapper::set_custom_wp_query_groupby() expected to be a reference, value given in /var/www/ud20_387/html/bauhaus/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 270

Warning: Parameter 2 to M_DataMapper::set_custom_wp_query_fields() expected to be a reference, value given in /var/www/ud20_387/html/bauhaus/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 270

Warning: Parameter 2 to M_DataMapper::set_custom_wp_query() expected to be a reference, value given in /var/www/ud20_387/html/bauhaus/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 270

Warning: Declaration of C_DataMapper_Driver_Base::define($object_name, $context = false) should be compatible with C_Component::define($context = false) in /var/www/ud20_387/html/bauhaus/wp-content/plugins/nextgen-gallery/products/photocrati_nextgen/modules/datamapper/class.datamapper_driver_base.php on line 744

Das einzige Keramik-Museum in Mitteldeutschland wurde schon 1880 als Mustersammlung gegründet. Es dürfte damit das älteste Spezialmuseum für Keramik überhaupt sein. Dokumentiert wird die Geschichte des Töpferhandwerkes in Bürgel und der zugehörigen Landmeister von den nachweisbaren Anfängen Mitte des 17. Jahrhunderts bis zur Gegenwart.

Seit Mai 2003 wird die informative Dauerausstellung im sanierten, denkmalgeschützten »Alten Schulhaus« in der Ortsmitte präsentiert. Neben einfacher Irdenware mit Engobe-Bemalung finden sich Beispiele für das sehr hoch gebrannte Steinzeug mit der typischen »Blauen Schürze« sowie der in Manufakturen gefertigten Luxuskeramik aus der Zeit des Historismus, des Jugendstils und der 1920er Jahre. Einen Schwerpunkt bilden Keramiken nach Entwürfen Henry van de Veldes (siehe unten), die in Bürgel ab 1902/03 in großem Variantenreichtum produziert wurden. Werke späterer Keramikerpersönlichkeiten wie Carl Fischer (siehe unten) und Walter Gebauer (siehe unten) sind ebenso vertreten wie typische Stücke der Bürgeler Blauweiß-Keramik.

Vom Bürgeler Museum aus wird auch das Projekt zur musealen Umgestaltung der Dornburger Keramik-Werkstatt betreut. Mit dem ehemaligen Bauhaustöpfer Otto Lindig (2009/10) und der Keramikerfamilie Körting (2012) wurden bereits zwei wichtige Abschnitte der Dornburger Keramikgeschichte durch Sonderausstellungen gewürdigt. Zu den Sonderausstellungen erscheinen Kataloge in einer eigenen Museumsreihe. Es dürfte sich um die wichtigste Katalogreihe zur deutschen Keramikgeschichte in der Gegenwart handeln.

Die Schriftenreihe ist im Museumsshop ebenso erhältlich wie ausgewählte Produkte regionaler Töpfereien. Unter konservatorisch guten Bedingungen und fachlicher Aufsicht werden im Bürgeler Museum auch die ständig wachsenden Sammlungsbestände zur Dornburger Keramik-Werkstatt gelagert. Hierzu gehören auch wichtige Dauerleihgaben der Sparkassen-Kulturstiftung Hessen-Thüringen — Sammlung Winnicke, Nachlass Körting, Sammlung Breitenbach sowie der Ernst von Siemens-Kunststiftung.

Persönlichkeiten

Henry van de VeldeCarl FischerWalter Gebauer
Henry van de Velde (1863-1957) war einer der bedeutendsten Künstler des Jugendstils. Das äußerst fruchtbare Schaffen dieser Stilperiode von etwa 1900 bis 1914 entfaltete er vor allem während seiner Weimarer Zeit als künstlerischer Berater im Großherzogtum Sachsen-Weimar-Eisenach und schließlich als Direktor der von ihm hier gegründeten Kunstgewerbeschule. 1902 besuchte van de Velde erstmals Bürgel und arbeitete in der Folgezeit eng mit mehreren Keramik-Fabrikanten zusammen. Er hat selbst mindestens etwa sechzig Entwürfe für keramische Gefäße geliefert. Hinzu kommen eine nicht klar abgrenzbare Anzahl von Entwürfen von Schülern der Kunstgewerbeschule. Seinem Einfluss ist eine nachhaltige Belebung der Bürgeler Keramikproduktion zu danken. Stilistische und technische Besonderheiten lassen es zu, von einer eigenständigen „Bürgeler Jugendstil-Keramik“ zu sprechen.
3-VasenTasse
Carl Fischer (1891-1969) nach einer Ausbildung an der Keramischen Fachschule in Bunzlau erwarb der im sächsischen Döbeln geborene Fischer in Bürgel eine Manufaktur und begründete die Bürgeler Kunstkeramische Werkstätte (BKW). Zunächst noch der Formensprache des Vorgängerbetriebes verpflichtet, setzte er schnell eigene Akzente, zunächst bei selbst entwickelten mehrfarbigen Laufglasuren, bald auch durch neue Gefäßformen. Neben glasurgebundenen Dekoren spielte auch immer die Schlickermalerei eine wichtige Rolle, wobei die Fischerwerkstatt wohl die erste in Bürgel war, in der Ritzdekore in einfarbige Engoben eingegraben wurden. Nach 1945 dominierte blau-weiße Engobe-Keramik, bei der die geritzten Ornamente mit Schlickermalerei zum typischen „Fischerstil“ kombiniert wurden.
Korrektur_Bilddatei14_FischerKorrektur_Bilddatei15_FischerKorrektur_Bilddatei16_Fischer
Walter Gebauer (1907-1989) gilt als einer der wichtigsten Keramiker Ostdeutschlands. Der Sohn von Paul Gebauer, mit dem er zusammen seit 1934 in Bürgel eine handwerkliche Töpferei betrieb, legte 1925 in der Fabrik des Onkels Carl Gebauer die Gesellenprüfung ab. 1925 bis 1927 studierte er an der Keramischen Fachschule in Bunzlau. 1945 wurde er zum Obermeister der Thüringer Töpfer gewählt. Über Jahrzehnte widmete er sich der Ausbildung des Nachwuchses und setzte dabei hohe, bis heute anerkannte Standards durch. Ausgehend von volkstümlich dekorierter Irdenware erweiterte er schrittweise das Profil der Werkstatt. Die Glasur erlangte immer größere Bedeutung in seinem keramischen Schaffen, wobei er ebenfalls zur Erneuerung der Gefäßästhetik nach 1945 beitrug. Gebauer war einer der führenden deutschen Spezialisten für Kristallglasuren. In Anerkennung seiner Verdienste wird jährlich zum Bürgeler Töpfermarkt der Walter-Gebauer-Keramikpreis vergeben.
waltergebauerwaltergebauer_servicewaltergebauer_schalen