Lively workshop

The workshop in the Marstall has been run by the master potter Ulrich Körting up to today. He is the owner of the models and rights of numerous animal sculptures, vessel and décor designs developed by his parents Heiner-Hans and Lisa Körting. They represent a considerable part of the current manufacture. In addition he makes his own, independent craft ceramics.

Once the workshop stretched on the whole ground floor of the building. Nowadays Ulrich Körting manufactures in the right wing of the building, the former kitchen of the castle. In the future it will be possible to watch the potter while working from those rooms of the Bauhaus Pottery belonging to the museum.

At present the pottery is usually open on weekdays from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. and on special occasions, as the Day of Open Pottery at the beginning of March, Dornburg Rose Festival at the end of June or the Castles Night in August.

Some of the products, as for instance the popular figures with turning heads can be bought via the Ceramics Museum Bürgel.

Lebendige Töpferei

Die Werkstatt im Marstall wird bis heute von Töpfermeister Ulrich Körting betrieben. Er ist Inhaber der Modelle und Rechte an zahlreichen von seinen Eltern Heiner-Hans und Lisa Körting entworfenen Tierskulpturen, Gefäß- und Dekorformen, die einen wesentlichen Teil der aktuellen Produktion ausmachen. Daneben entsteht eine eigenständige, kunsthandwerkliche Keramik.

Die Werkstatt erstreckte sich einst auf das gesamte Erdgeschoss des Gebäudes. Heute produziert Ulrich Körting im rechten Gebäudeflügel, der ehemaligen Schlossküche. Künftig wird es möglich sein, von den zum Museum gehörenden Räumen der Bauhaustöpferei aus dem Töpfer bei der Arbeit zuzusehen.

Gegenwärtig ist die Töpferei gewöhnlich wochentags von 9 bis 16 Uhr und bei besonderen Anlass, wie dem Tag der offenen Töpferei Anfang März, dem Dornburger Rosenfest Ende Juni oder zur Schlössernacht im August, geöffnet.

Ausgewählte Produkte, wie auch die beliebten Drehkopf-Figuren, können über das Keramik-Museum Bürgel erworben werden.