Otto Lindig

After closing the Bauhaus in Weimar the workshop as a training centre in Dornburg continued to exist. From that moment Otto Lindig ran the pottery, first as crafts master at the newly founded State College for Crafts and Architecture (Staatliche Hochschule für Handwerk und Baukunst), from 1930 as independent master potter. So again apprentices underwent their training here, partially worked in the Marstall workshop for years and took important positions in the German ceramics history after leaving Dornburg. The following belonged to them: Johannes Leßmann, Liebfriede Bernstiel, Walburga Külz, Erich Triller, Rose Krebs, Otto Hofmann, Douglas Zadek

Up to 1947 Lindig manufactured his “Bauhaus ceramics (Bauhaustöpfereien – as he said himself) here in the family workshop. However, he also continued to produce a lot of his own designs developed in the first half of the twenties.

Despite lasting economic difficulties Lindig gained high national and international appreciation in the 1930s. The gold medal he achieved at the Paris World Exhibition in 1937 not least of all proves the appreciation Lindig’s ceramics gained and have gained up to now.

Otto Lindig

Auch nach Schließung des Bauhauses in Weimar existierte die Ausbildungswerkstatt Dornburg weiter. Otto Lindig leitete von nun an die Töpferei, zunächst als Lehrmeister an der in Weimar neu gegründeten Staatlichen Hochschule für Handwerk und Baukunst, ab 1930 als selbstständiger Töpfermeister. Erneut absolvierten Lehrlinge hier die Ausbildung, blieben teilweise über Jahre in der Marstallwerkstatt tätig und besetzten nach ihrem Weggang wesentliche Positionen der deutschen Keramik-Geschichte. Zu ihnen gehörten: Johannes Leßmann, Liebfriede Bernstiel, Walburga Külz, Erich Triller, Rose Krebs, Otto Hofmann, Douglas Zadek

Bis 1947 stellte Lindig hier im familiären Handwerksbetrieb seine, wie er selbst sagte, „Bauhaustöpfereien“ her, wobei er viele der von ihm in der ersten Hälfte der zwanziger Jahre entwickelte Formen weiterhin produzierte.

Trotz anhaltender wirtschaftlicher Schwierigkeiten konnte Lindig in den 1930er Jahren eine hohe nationale und internationale Wertschätzung genießen. Nicht zuletzt die 1937 auf der Pariser Weltausstellung errungene Goldmedaille belegt die hohe Anerkennung, die Lindigs Keramik genoss – und bis heute genießt.